cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is differential backup reliable?

windwizard
Not applicable
Hello!

I'm pondering the backup strategy in my organisation right now. I've got three Windows servers, including one SQL server and one IBM DDS-5 tape device (DAT72).
I've got also BackupExec 9.1 installed on one server.

I'm thinking of implementing differential backup scheme. However, I have never used it before, and therefore I have doubts regarding rekiability of this scheme.

Could you advise me on which differential backup to choose. Archive Bit, Modified Time or may be NTFS Change journal. What's is your opinion?

For instance, if I choose Archive Bit method should I avoid using different backup programs like MS Windows Backup?

Any considerations are welcomed.
4 REPLIES 4

Keith_Langmead
Level 6
HI,

Well personally, I don't know anything about teh NTFS change journal, but from the other two options I'd pick the Archive bit method rather than modified time, purely because I don't like relying on nothing screwy happening to the system date and time on the server.

In reliability terms I can't think of any reason for concern about the reliability of differential backups. Given the choice I'd prefer to only use Full backups, but I'd rather have differential backups than incremental backups any day. Not just because it takes less time to restore the data is required, but also because you're not as reliant on a series of tapes not having problems, and if the worst does happen, and your most recent tape becomes faulty, you can still just move back to the previous one.

One thing to note however, if memory serves correctly, SQL data is always backed up as a Full backup, as Backup Exec can't delve into the database and pick out only the data which has changed, so you won't see any space saving from backing up that data using a differential backup.

Deepali_Badave
Level 6
Employee
Hello,