cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Media Sets Question

Mary_2
Level 2

Hi:

I run differential backups Thursday through Tuesday with a Full backup on Wednesday.

I have three jobs: Daily Diff, Weekly Full and Monthly Full (monthly is run 1st Wednesday of each month). There are three media sets associated with each of the above jobs.  Daily Diff Media set, Weekly Full Media Set and Monthly Full Media set.  Each media set having its own overwrite and append rules.

Jobs ususally run without issue except for the following: On 12/24 a full backup was run and completed. On 12/25 the Daily job did not run it was queued.  I thought the daily job would append to Wednesdays full backup.  Is it because of the media set? 

I am new to BE.  Am I not understanding a concept here? I would like to know if there is any way to set up the jobs so that it will append to a tape no matter what. We do have users who do work holidays and would like to get differential backups on those rare holidays.

If I only need one media set then how do I set overwrite and append times?  Any suggestions are welcome.

Thanks,

Mary

5 REPLIES 5

Kevin_Cotreau
Level 6

First, the job did not append to the Full because it was looking for a specific media set, and the tape in the drive was not part of that set. The job correctly followed the rules that were set.

How many tapes you have for each type of job? I am assuming that you have one to five tapes for the daily differentials, maybe one or more for the weeklys, and one per month for how many months? How many total?

What kind of tapes are they (LTO-3, DAT, etc) and are you open to buying more if they are necessary for a proper rotation?

How much data is backed up on a differential and how much on a full? How long do they take to do each type?

Is there any reason your full does not run over the weekend? When is the business closed?