cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Moved catalog -> severe performance decrease

Mexiken
Level 2
Dear Forum,

I have been using Backup Exec for Windows Servers happily for about 11 months.  All was fine and dandy until my system partition filled up (Dell partitioned my drive to their 12 GB default... thanks...).  My Backup Exec catalog was roughly 1GB so I moved this to my "D drive", told Backup Exec the new location, and restarted my services.

Since then my backup jobs have observed drastically decreased performance on the order of one magnitude.  Below I will list all relavent details that I can recall.

Here is a small sample of backup jobs and their times.  The first pair is the typical backup job.  The second pair is what I have been seeing lately.

Job name                  Byte count      Job rate
DELLNAS (weekly)   327 GB           3,100 MB / min
mail server (weekly)  32 GB             1,600 MB / min

DELLNAS (weekly)   335 GB           133 MB / min
mail server (weekly)  33 GB             133 MB / min

System configuration:
Dell PowerEdge 2900
Windows Storage Server 2003 R2 x64
Domain controller - Active Directory
Backup Exec 11d - SP2, HF27
RAID-1 - 2x 73 GB SAS 15K - C:(12 GB system partition), E: (56 GB empty partition)
RAID-5 - 6x 300 GB SAS 10K - D (1.5 TB NAS partition).
4 GB RAM
old catalog path - c:\program files\symantec\backup exec\catalogs\
new catalog path - d:\backup exec catalog\

Notes: I have not yet restarted this server.  I also cannot update through LU anymore.  The tape drive is an IBM Ultrium-TD3 packaged as a Dell PowerVault 110T.  It has a direct connection to DELLNAS.  Both DELLNAS and "mail server" has a gigabit connection to our network.

Thanks in advance!

Kenneth Kollin

Message Edited by Mexiken on 11-19-2007 12:53 PM

Message Edited by Mexiken on 11-19-2007 12:53 PM
5 REPLIES 5

Mexiken
Level 2
bump

lots of topics in the last 24 hours!

DY
Level 4