cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems with Media Sets/Backup Strategy

CFelder
Level 3
I am experiencing the "Media Full" problem where the tape is ejected and a request for a new media is made. I am new to this as well, but the append and overwrite schedules seem to complicate this process.

From the previous post and responses, I gather this is because of the append to media settings.

I don't have any issues or constraints with regards to purchasing additional tapes, I just don't think its necessary.

I swap tapes every night using one tape for each night. They are labeled "Monday"..........."Friday". I have a daily job that runs each night.

When I view the properties of my Media Set and a particular tape ( in this case the one labeled Monday) this is what I see.

Media Set:
Overwrite Protection period: 4 Hours
Appendable period: Infinite - Allow Append

Monday's Tape:
Overwrite Protection until: Overwritable
Appendable Until: Not Appendable (Media Full)

When Monday's tape is in the drive and the daily job runs Monday night, the data that is getting overwritten is last Mondays data, since I recycle the tapes each week. In this scenario, I'll always have the last weeks data right, albeit each day of the previous week would reside on its own tape. Wouldn't my scenario work error free if I change the overwrite settings to "None"?

Any assistance is greatly appreciated.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Ken_Putnam
Level 6
I think my confusion lies in the relationship between apend and overwrite.

OPP is figured from the time that the last job on a tape (or BKF append family) is closed, and thus changes every time an Append job is run

APP   is figured from the time the first backup set is started on a tape and never changes

So if

OPP = 7 days, APP = 5 days

Job daily is defined as Append, runs Mon - Fri