cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recovery 101

Jake_McNutt
Level 4
Good morning......I just recently installed BEWS10 on both a NAS & our Exchange Server. I'm a rookie when it comes to backups, so this is all new to me.

The NAS runs a full backup over the weekend, and a differential each night from Monday - Thursday. I have a B2D folder set up, and then it runs a duplicate job to a 100GB tape. Everything seems to be running pretty smooth now.

The Exchange Server runs a full backup every night. I don't backup it up to a B2D folder, though. It just backs up directly to the 40GB tape. Monday - Friday this is done. Everything seems to running fine with the Exchange server now.

Since I finally have the backups running, I'd like to look into my recovery options. Like I said before, I'm a rookie, so please assume that I know nothing. Now I know there's documentation out there, and that's fine....I'd like to read it. But I'd also like to hear from some of you who've been doing these backups for awhile & have a good idea of how the recovery process works.

I'm eager to learn the process, and look forward to hearing some replies.

If you need more information about our machines, please don't hesitate to ask.
9 REPLIES 9

Jake_McNutt
Level 4
Seriously, I can give you more information if you need it.

If there is not a reply within 2 days, I am determined to wait longer.

Scott_Filler
Level 3
I am relatively new to the backup exec game too (about 2 years) and from my experience, the best way to learn how it works is hands on. If you can, set up a lab and run tests on backup and restores. Especially full restores. There is the way restores should work, then there is the way they actually do. Right now I am testing The IDR option to see if we want to buy it. So far I'm leaning towards "no".
If anyone else has any feedback on using IDR, I'd love to hear it.
My 2 cents.

Ken_Putnam
Level 6
Scott -

I've never been tempted to buy IDR.