Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reusing Tapes

Rick_Morgan
Level 3
Hello,

I'm new to Backup Exec 10d and have a bunch of older tapes I want to
reuse. When I put the tape in the drive it dosn't come up under any of
the media or devices. How do set up an old tape to use as a new tape?
Also is there away to check the tape for errors and how many hours are
on the tape? I should also mention I get alot of soft errors.

-Thanks, Rick
6 REPLIES 6

Keith_Langmead
Level 6
When you say they don't come up under any of teh media or devices what do you mean here, are they not even showing as being in the drive? Have you run an inventory job? Assuming you can see the tapes listed once you've run the inventory job you should be able to move them into scratch media, which will then make them available to be used.

Don't think there is a way to view the stats on the tapes though, as that information is stored by the Backup Exec installation, not the tape itself, so would only be available if you still had access to your old installation. As far as Backup Exec will be concerned they will all be new tapes, and it will begin recording the relevant information from that basis, so 0 hours, 0 errors etc. Obviously if they are getting old and dodgy you'll start getting errors shown very quickly.

Rick_Morgan
Level 3
No I didn't do a inventory job. I'll try that and see what happens. Also, I noticed that when I do a long erase then do a backup with that tape I didn't get any errors. As I type this reply I have a second tape doing a long erase. It is a tape that failed an exchange full (normal) back up with soft errors. I'll rerun the job to see if I get errors using the same tape.

Note: I reran the job and it failed. Soft errors.

-RickMessage was edited by:
Rick Morgan

Sean_Bucci
Not applicable