cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Symantec Backup exec 2010 - Daily backup scheduled dates reverts back

Sakthi
Level 3

Hi All,

I am new to the Backup exec 2010 software but I have been taught the basic operations and I am still learning the admin guide to understand this great software. 

The person before me scheduled the daily backups to run 5 week days and excluded the weekends. This was working fine until 04/01/2011, as I have been told to introduce a new tape for the next day's backup. I copied the settings and did a new tape. later on that evening I found the job status showing the "Invalid Schedule" and the start time was a default timing and not the scheduled timing. So far, I have n't touched the "schedule" section.

Apart from the daily backups, we have Monthly and yearly backups. When I checked the monthly backups I could see the scheduled dates.

Then I started to fiddle the schedule section on that day trying to re-schedule, when I selected the "edit schedule setting It was clear and I couldn't find the previously(by the person before me) scheduled dates. so I changed it to a specific date which is wednesday 05/01/2011 and submitted. After that the whole job got vanished, from the "job monitor" page. I could not explain why that happened.

The next day, I re-scheduled for the whole year by selecting the standard backup properties from the "job setup" page. Then everything seemed to be normal, which is the daily backup appeared showing the status as "scheduled" on the "job monitor" page and it was a successful backup after tuesday(04/01/2011).

Today(07/01/2011), again I found the scheduled backup had a "Invalid schedule" on the job monitor page. I rescheduled again for this whole year and submitted it. After that the same thing happened, the scheduled daily backup got vanished from the "job monitor" page.