cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Very Disappointing LTO5 Job Rate

PaulCusden
Level 2

This is not necessarily a problem, more of an observation, but if anyone else agrees that these results are disappointing and has any advice or a magic fix, it would be much appreciated. I am new to using BE2010 and have just implemented a LTO5 single tape backup unit system. Perhaps there is a setting somewhere that I have missed in setup...

I am doing a standard backup of 2 files of around 300gb each to new LTO5 media, and getting an average job rate of ~ 1750MB/Min. With verify on, this takes around 12 hours.

To be honest, I was expecting something significantly faster than this both in terms of tape write speed and the subsequent verification. The theoretical maximum for LTO5 is 140MB/sec. This gives a potential job rate of 8400Mb/Min, obviously this is just on paper and not "real world". I have however run IBM Tape Diagnostic Tool and have a confirmed write speed of 132.74MB/s, so pretty close to the theoretical max.

With BE2010 I always get roughly the same job rate rate, regardless of where the files are located - I have tried backups with the source files on Raid 1 or Raid 5 arrays (the R5 obviously has a much faster sustained read capability). To me this suggests that the hard drives/their controllers are not a bottleneck.