cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

e000fe29 - Authentication failed on connection to the server.

Mike_Greene
Level 2
Folks, I am fairly new to Backup Exec. I recently installed Backup Exec for Windows servers on the server with my tape drive. I also installed remote agents on 2 other windows servers. The credentials DO have administrative privileges on the servers. A short while ago I had the evalution version of this software running (version 9.1). I am not sure how the evaluation version uses the credentials, but I did use the same credentials in Version 10 as I had with 9.1.

I am not really sure where to look ? I have created a new account and it fails with that as well. Our network is usiing Active Directory, and my location has a separate Organizational Unit.

I realize that this is probably a simple issue, but I have spent the last couple of days trying different accounts.

I can see the other servers from the backup server using the credentials that I used with Backup Exec. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I have gone through all of the stuff that veritas suggested.

Thanks, Mike
4 REPLIES 4

Aalok_Pathak_2
Level 6
The error '0xa000fe29 - Authentication failed while connecting to server' is the BEWS error. This may occur due to insufficient access rights to the account, used for connecting to the target system . This account should have administrative privileges. You may refer following steps for configuring backup of remote machines:

1) Create a new user on the remote machine. Make newly created user a member of local Administrator group only.

2) Start Backup Exec, create a Logon account with same username and password as that of newly created user. You may refer to following:

-Start Backup Exec

-Select Tools > Wizards > Logon account wizard -Add new logon account, type in the credential for the new account.

-Make this account a common logon account.

-Complete the wizard.