Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

will repair of BE change any jobs?

LNH_Network_Adm
Level 3
hi there,

im pretty new to this so yea..
:)

if i run a repair of backup exec, will it change any of the jobs that have been running and setup?

thanks in advance

D.J.
6 REPLIES 6

jesus_asphalt
Level 4
You need to test it and find out.

Nothing is worse than making back ups that don't restore anything and if you don't have a way to test your back ups you are asking for a total disaster.

Spend the time and money to do the job right.

-Never- trust an application, especially a symantec application, to do your job for you.

LNH_Network_Adm
Level 3
hehe sounds good..

i know what you mean, but i think if i test it and find out what i don't want to find out then there will be some problems.

thanks for your suggestions michael.

but i have to know how a repair of BE will affect the jobs or the application itself?

jesus_asphalt
Level 4
WTF?

If you work in an environment where testing backups is impossible for you, then get out now because your only role in that organization is fall-guy.

I don't care if the temp-contract money is too good or the benefits are great.

When the you-know-what hits the irreplaceable mission-critical data server and the Executives are mad then you sir, are fired.

Who's terms are you going to leave under? Yours or theirs?

LNH_Network_Adm
Level 3
wtf?

u alright in the head man?

i asked a simple question if you can not answer it then don't reply with some gibberish.

so don't waste your time by trying to be smart and don't try to give me a lecture.

and confucious, please save ur time and don't reply with some other lecture.

so any other suggestions will be appreciated. :)

aravind_kondapa
Level 6
A repair installation will not affect any of your jobs.
What the repair installation does is: