cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does Enterprise Vault have Deep archive options

gockenbr
Level 3
I'm still learning the ins and outs of the product and have a questions regarding deep archive options with EV.

We are currently running enterprise vault for journaling purposes only but are in the process of setting up mailbox archiving. I currently have only a handful of users setup for mailbox archive and all seems to be working great. Per a new policy that is being implemented shortly I am getting all users setup for mailbox archive with a 3 month old archive setting and 3months after archive deletion (basically archive anything that is at 3months old out of exchange and delete from archive after the age reaches 6months). Legal has now informed me that we need to put a hold on deletion of all email so i have set the retention time accordingly. Legal is also after me to find out if EV has a deep archive option that would allow email to still get archived to EV after the 3 months and would still disappear from the users archive 3 months after that but would remain in the archive but just get deep archived away from the end users but still be available for ediscovery that is needed.

Is this deep archive step possible? If so how? It needs to appear to the end user that their email that is over 6 months old is gone from there mailbox/archive completely but in reality we still have online in a deep archive for ediscovery purposes.

Any info on if this is possible or not would be great.

thanks,
Brad
6 REPLIES 6

NilsV
Level 3
Partner
Not to my knowledge .. but one way to achieve something like this, is prolonging the retention of your journal archive.

You can access/search through the jounal archive and since it contains all the e-mail from all users anyway, you will also find the e-mail that has already been deleted from the user's mailbox archive.

Liam_Finn1
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified
Well i think you have options