cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Enterprise Vault, stubs and missing items

BrettWorld
Level 2

Hi,

I'm very new to Enterprise Vault (8.0.3.1845) and was looking for a sanity check before I deliver some bad news to a user.

Situation is:

User opens a mail message from within outloook that has been archived.  The attachment looks like is there, however upon attempting to open, the message "Symantec Enterprise Vault - Error.  The requested item is no longer in the vault." is displayed.  I've got them to search using the Archive Explorer but the messages are not found.

Whilst on the EV server, there is a single retention policy (Set to "Forever", the option to stop items from being deleted is not checked).

This leads me to think that:

i) Enterprise vault didn't delete the items based on a policy

ii) The (or another) user has deleted the items.

iii) There is some form of misalignment between the stubs in the mailbox and what is present in the users Archive. (Is this common?  Is it fixable?)

The user did mention that a folder (containing these items) was deleted from her inbox but later pulled back through from deleted items - not sure if this can cause this unsynched stubs?

I'm trying to understand what the functional behaviour should be, so that I can formulate what to say to the user.

A colleague had suggested that embarking down a restore is not a simple task by any means.

Thanks in advance :)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

JesusWept3
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

Sounds a bit odd..... so heres the deal.

With Enterprise Vault in Outlook, if you have stubs, you can delete shortcuts individually, it will either delete the shortcut and the item, or just the shortcut or ask you what you want to do, depending on policy.

However, if you delete an entire folder, it will be considered a soft delete, where the folder and shortcuts move to deleted items, but the items in the archive will remain