cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Move vault/s from closed Index EVS 8.0

LegalITTech
Level 3
I've spent some time searching and will continue to research the articles I've found, but thought I'd post anyway.  I'm new to EVS and had a full week of very varied issues (best way to learn!).

We have three Indexes, one closed and two open.  The closed Index is > 800GB and growing, whereas the two open Indexes are 4GB and 8GB in size.
  1. How do I enumerate all users/archives on each Index (SQL query?)
  2. Once we've identified which archives should be moved (by activity), how do we complete this process? Can this be done on a per-user basis?
  3. Is there a recommended strategy for the number of open Indexes?  i.e. Should we open the max number of Indexes and close them when they reach a certain size?
Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

TonySterling
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified
The second technote listed covers that.  If you look at the properties of you Archive in the Vault Admin Console on the Index tab you will see the option to change the location for your index.  You could start at Step 2 if you are going through the VAC.

Change the index location for one archive

1. Right-click the list of index volumes and, on the shortcut menu, click Select All. Alternatively, multiple index volumes can be selected as follows:
  • To select single index volumes, hold down Ctrl and then click the index volumes.
  • To select a group of index volumes, click the first index volume then hold down Shift while clicking the index volume in the group.

2. Right-click the selected index volumes and, on the shortcut menu, click Set Index Volume Offline. There is a warning that index volumes cannot be searched when they are offline. Click Yes. There is a confirmation that the operation has been queued. Click OK. The status of the index volume changes to Offline.