cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Basic Disk Catalog Backup

ikmalj
Level 2

Hi everyone,

This is my first post and I'm new to NetBackup. I having problem how to do catalog backup and recovery from domain A to domain B.

I already done backup the catalog on domain A with Basic Disk. How am I gonna replicate the Basic Disk from domain A to domain B?

Domain A: Flex Appliance NetBackup 10.3

Domain B: RHEL 8.4 (NetBackup 10.3)

Thanks

6 REPLIES 6

StefanosM
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Hello.

First, replicating backups of a basic disk to another disk is not the optimal way. use a deduplication pool and SLP.
Second, I have the filing that there is something wrong here, as you can not create a basic disk on a flex appliance. Do you have an external (to flex) master or media server?

Third, restoring a database backup of flex master server to a BYO master server is not supported

Actually, I'm able to created a basic disk which the option already there when creating the storage disk. My flex environment have instances of master server, media server and worm storage.

ikmalj_1-1707442173584.png

HI @ikmalj 

If the Basic Disk storage unit is on a Flex instance, then unless you know what you were doing, the backups on the storage will probably disappear if you restart the instance (this is by design as an instance is a docker container that is rebuilt when it starts from a template). Basic disk storage units are not supported on a Flex instance - only MSDP and Advanced disk (the option is there to support BYO media servers). Storage pools are first created via the Flex console, then you configure this storage in NetBackup (instructions are contained in the various Flex instance and admin guides).