Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NDMP path is different

Omar_Villa
Level 6
Employee
NBU 5.1MP4, Solaris 9

Hi, Im not a NDMP expert and I dont understand much about that, I have some issues with a couple of drive who had a different SN and I want to fix that but under the drive path which is different also is changes a lot, check this from tpconfig -l

drive - 0 hcart3 1 UP - NDMPA-F1-LTO1-1 /ndmp//dev/rmt/0cbn

drive - 1 hcart3 2 DOWN - NDMPA-F1-LTO1-2 /ndmp//dev/rmt/1cbn

drive - 2 hcart3 3 UP - NDMPA-F1-LTO1-3 /ndmp//dev/rmt/2cbn

drive - 3 hcart3 4 UP - NDMPA-F1-LTO1-4 /ndmp//dev/rmt/3cbn

The /ndmp folder doesn't exists and under the tpautoconf config I have the following:

TPAC45 IBM ULT3580-TD1 5AU1 6891608945 -1 -1 -1 -1 /dev/rmt/0cbn - -

TPAC45 IBM ULT3580-TD1 5AU1 1390206532 -1 -1 -1 -1 /dev/rmt/1cbn - -

TPAC45 IBM ULT3580-TD1 5AU1 1390212019 -1 -1 -1 -1 /dev/rmt/2cbn - -

TPAC45 IBM ULT3580-TD1 5AU1 6811201482 -1 -1 -1 -1 /dev/rmt/3cbn - -

For me this just to say in some way that those drives are NDMP, but Im not 100% sure, so to update this serial number and paths I want to run the commands:

vmoprcmd -devconfig "-update -drive 0 -path /dev/rmt/0cbn"

vmoprcmd -devconfig "-update -drive 1 -path /dev/rmt/1cbn"

vmoprcmd -devconfig "-update -drive 2 -path /dev/rmt/2cbn"

vmoprcmd -devconfig "-update -drive 3 -path /dev/rmt/3cbn"

I dont want to scramble this anymore, can someone please confirm me if this is the correct way to do it or if there is any other way?

Thanks for your help, have a good one.

5 REPLIES 5

zippy
Level 6
Do you have NDMP configured on your master?

If you dont then dont worrie about it.

as for the serial numbers, i would not worrie about that too.

The system (netbackup) needs to know the device path like /dev/dsk/cxtxdx and the logical position of the tape drive withinthe library.

You can fix the serial numbers but, it a pain in the you know what.