cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Required Media is in use (Queued backup jobs)

bunsen82
Level 4

Hi,

This is my first post in the community, and I am by no means an NBU expert! The best/worst kind of user! :)

Anyhow, I have recently inherited our companies NBU environment as the person managing it has left. I have a history in backup but these are typically disk based solutions. This is my first real exposure to managing NBU.

Setup:

Windows 2012 Master server, using a Spectra Logic 950 tape library running NDMP level backups on the whole, with some agent/client level too.

Had some failed jobs recently and I am attempting to re-run the jobs. There are a total of 13 jobs. Only one is processing, the rest are "queued" status and the state details are : Required Media is in use (Server name/Library blah)

These are from 13 different policies, all using the same client. Typically, the clients are able to process multiple jobs at once but this error seems more of a media issue than policy I would assume.

When I look into the detailed status of the queued jobs, the following message is offered:

awaiting resource gbwwsclobkp01-hcart3-robot-tld-0-backup.gbwwsbasifs.COMPANYDOMAIN Reason: Media is in use, Media Server: gbwwsclobkp01.COMPANYDOMAIN,
  Robot Number: 0, Robot Type: TLD, Media ID: N/A, Drive Name: N/A,
  Volume Pool: DataStore, Storage Unit: gbwwsclobkp01-hcart3-robot-tld-0-backup.gbwwsbasifs.COMPANYDOMAIN Drive Scan Host: N/A

Stating the obvious, I would expect the above error to actually specify a drive or tape that it is waiting for but it is all N/A. The volume pools and library suggest that there is available tapes/space but NBU does not it seems!

Would someone be kind enough to help me troubleshoot this?

Thanks!

16 REPLIES 16

GeForce123
Level 5

Hello @bunsen82,

Storage Unit: gbwwsclobkp01-hcart3-robot-tld-0-backup.gbwwsbasifs.COMPANYDOMAIN