cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Super Slow Restore speeds

Brian_R
Level 2

I've been reading and reading through the forums and google etc...  I see lots of people who have slow restores but none of the fixes regarding buffere settings etc... i've found have had any effect on my restores.

I'm pretty new to Netbackup, I'm used to BackupExec.  I'm using Netbackup 5.1 and attempting to do an exchange restore.  When I'm restoring, I'm only getting about 1.5MBps.  In this scenario, the tape drive is directly attached (via fiber) to the server.  The tapes are multiplexed.  If I am basically restoring locally with the tape device attached to the same server why so slow?  I have about 24 restores that need to be done yesterday RE:litigation that are individually taking approximately 27hrs each.  At this rate, I'll be done restoring in a month - but from my new job...

Help!!  TIA

10 REPLIES 10

Omar_Villa
Level 6
Employee

What is the size of your multiplexing? if you have big multiplex number it will be a fast backup but a slow restore

Rakesh_Khandelw
Level 6
Large multiplex setting can significantly affect restore speed. Are you sure your restore is going through local drive, not through some other drive and over the LAN. Was backup performed through this local drive?

jim_dalton
Level 6

MPX indeed : what MPX factor are you using, as prev. asked? If its 10 , then its not abnormal to expect restores to be 1/10th the speed of the backup.

Take netbackup out of the picture, pcik some arbitrary data and tar it to the tape, then restore it and see how long it takes. This might point you to the drive.

Also ( and this makes a big difference also) have you tuned netb buffers and blocks? This can increase backup and subsequent restore dramatically.

Combine MPX 10 and untuned buffers and a drive that can do 240M/sec non-mpx could easily downgrade to 6M/sec,mpx.