cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Windows java gui suddenly stopped bringing up login promp

mb_mnd
Level 3

I have a Solaris master/media server and a windows management client that runs the Netback 6 java gui

For years I have been logging in to the windows box, running the java shortcut and a java box pops up and within a few moments I get a second window with a login prompt where I login with the solaris master/media server root credentials

What has happened is that suddenly and without any change occuring that was puposeful when launching the java gui app the java box pops up, but the prompt never follows

The only logs on the windows box show:

java version "1.4.0_03"
Java(TM) 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition (build 1.4.0_03-b04)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 1.4.0_03-b04, mixed mode)

I've tried manually setting file.encoding in the java command line but nothing made any difference

I tried bypassing inetd and running bpjava standalone on the solaris machine, but didnt matter. bpjava is listening and working fine with inetd. I can even telnet to the port on the solaris machine from the windows machine

Even if I snoop on solaris for any traffic coming from the windows machine when launching java gui app literally nothing gets to solaris

Totally baffled on what has gone wrong. It seem like its a problem ith the windows/java gui app, but there have been no changes whatsoever on this windows machine for years. All it does is run this java gui app for netbackup. Its netbackup 6.x. master/media server is Solaris 9

3 REPLIES 3

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Apologies for not respnding sooner, but you are going to find it difficult to get assistance for NBU 6 and Solaris 9.

All of the above ran out of support many years ago.... 

If you are using the Windows Java Console, all I can suggest is to reinstall the Java GUI on your Windows system.

manatee
Level 6

that's why i hate java.