cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

help with permissions on backups written to disk

lndbrusr
Level 2

Folks,

I have my linux netbackup master/media server backing up to disk.  The disk location is backupserver:/data/backup_images/

currently the backup images and info files get written as   

-rw-------  1 root root        8192 Apr  3 10:04 host1.domain.com_1365008648_C1_HDR.1365008648.img
-rw-------  1 root root         892 Apr  3 10:04 host1.domain.com_1365008648_C1_HDR.1365008648.info

thus owner root has rw and group and everyone have no permissions.

I want to have the files written by netbackup as

-rw-rw-----

so owner and group have rw permissions.  I have tried umask in /etc/profile on the linux master/media server and that did nothing leading me to believe that umask is set somewhere within netbackup's run scripts.

Can someone point me to where in the netbackup run scripts to change umask or tell me another way?

thanks,
lndbrusr
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Yasuhisa_Ishika
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

NetBackup create its own file with 0600 permission, and this permission is hard-coded.

NetBackup is dessigned as so since no other users and application should be prevent from touching image files. No trick in NetBackup. You need to sort it by this bandaid method.

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15

mph999
Level 6
Employee Accredited

Why do you want to do this.

You can't do anything with these files, they are the image files created by NetBackup and should not be touched.  There is no need for the group to have permissions, they are written they way they are because that is how NBU has been designed.  There is no way to adust this within NBU.

It is 100% unsupported to change these, if you suffer an issue due to this (perhapos unlikely but you never know) it may be unfixable.

Martin

lndbrusr
Level 2