cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BE 2012 Sharepoint Log Backups

Peter_Sheridan
Level 6

Hello,

So I hear that Sharepoint transaction log backups are no longer supported in BE2012. What is the new solution for doing these now?

Cheers

Peter Sheridan

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

pkh
   VIP    Certified

See this recommendation to set the recovery mode to simple so that you do not back up the transaction log.

https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/forums/sharepoint-server-recovery#comment-6978381

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

pkh
   VIP    Certified

See this recommendation to set the recovery mode to simple so that you do not back up the transaction log.

https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/forums/sharepoint-server-recovery#comment-6978381

Peter_Sheridan
Level 6

Hi Pkh,

Thanks for the reply.

I am no huge expert when it comes to sharepoint and transaction logs so was wondering what the disadvantage of doing this would be?

My understanding of transaction logs is that when a change is made to a database it also keeps a log so that you can see everything that has happened. Then you can do something like "replay transaction logs" and basically bring a database back to a certain point in time if needed. I belive thats the theory behind it anyway...

Wouldn't it be good to retain this option?

pkh
   VIP    Certified