cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BE 2012 not backing up SQL 2008 R2

BackItUpNow
Level 2

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to SQL backups but i understand the fundamentals, though i wanted to double check that what i'm doing is correct or if there's a better way backing up my SLQ server. I want to able to restore SQL databases and or the SQL server to within an hours of failure, data loss or corruption.

- I've scheduled a backup job to run like this

- Disaster Recovery enabled i.e. All drives + System State and  Microsoft SQL Server Instances are being backup up

- Full backup .................................................................................................................................11pm Friday's
- Incremental backup with "Incremental method for Microsoft SQL" selected as Log ..................Every 1 hour
- Incremental backup with "Incremental method for Microsoft SQL" selected as Differential .......Every Day 11pm exc. Friday's

- Use snapshot techonology with "Auto select" snapshot techonology selected

The first full backup works with an exceptions warning (below) but i'll fix that in a different thread.

VSS Snapshot warning. File c:\windows\system32\cba\pds.exe is not present on the snapshot.

Then all differentials and log incremetals fail with V-79-57344-867 - The last Full backup of database Cognos10_Planning was not made by this application. Run a new Full backup, then run this job again.

I believe i get this error msg because we are also running full database and log backups with the SQL Management Studio, some background info.. i inherited a job where we used to run SQL Full DB (daily) and Log (hourly) backups with Management Studio + Full (daily) Backup Exec jobs without incrementals and worked fine but now i only want Backup Exec to take care of all SQL backup jobs (Full, differentials, logs and so on). I assume by the error msg that i have to delete the mgmt studio backups jobs? Is this best practice?