cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Exec 2010 R3. Cannot backup server on another domain

ThatsTheWayWeGe
Level 3

Hi, I'm fairly new to Backup Exec and I'm picking up a problem where someone else did the initial setup etc.

On the Jobs which are set up to backup a server on another domain, in the Seections, the 'Resources' bit is greyed out and there's a message saying connection with server failed. Hit F5 to retry. (It doesn't change after refresh). I tried to set up a new backup Job, but when I use the Wizard to do so it has the option to backup to 'a remote windows computer' greyed out and a message saying 'The remote agent for windows systems is not installed on any computers). If I go to 'Install Agents and Media Servers on other servers' it verifys the install on the other server (I can also see the agent on the other server). I even went through the install process again and it all went fine. If I try to create a Job by going to 'New Job' (rather then New Job using Wizard) the Resources bit is greyed out so I can't select anything.

Can anyone give some help or advise please?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

ThatsTheWayWeGe
Level 3

Hi Just thought I'd put an update on here as I've finally got to the bottom of the issues after many support calls to Symantec, ununstalls and reinstalls etc.

It turns out it's rather simple - as one of the servers involved is a SBS 2003 server, a trust cannot be established between the two domains so it's therefore not possible to do what I was attempting.

I have to start from scratch and redesign my backup solution :).

Thanks for all your help and comments

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

RahulG
Level 6
Employee