cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Exec 2010 - SMTP Email Notification test causes Backup Exec Server service to stop

glenph
Level 2

Hi all,

Newbie here with a strange issue.

I have configured Backup Exec to point to our SMTP server and created a recipient to send to. When I test sending a notification I get the prompt that it has been queued for delviery but then the Backup Exec Server service stops along with the two other dependant services. I can start them myself afterwards without any issues.

Specs are as follows:

Windows 2003 R2 SP2 64bit, E5520 CPU, 8GB of RAM

Backup Exec 2010 - Version 13.0 Rev 2896

The services are set to run as the local system account, not a specific user.

Anyone else see this issue?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

6 REPLIES 6

Sush---
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified

Well the very first corrective action that needs to be taken here is to change the service account of Backup Exec services.

All Backup Exec services should be running under the specific user account which has Domain Admin rights. Only the Backup Exec Remote Agent service should be running under the Local System Account.

Make the changes and then see if the services still crash while sending the test email.

Thanks,

-Sush...

glenph
Level 2

Hi Sush,

Thanks for the reply. I will look into that. The machine is currently not part of our network, it has been left in WORKGROUP rather than the domain. I will inquire as to why they want it that way, maybe I can change it.

In that instance is their another account I could use, such as the local administrator of the machine?

In the meantime I will look into making the machine part of the domain.

Thanks again for the reply.

Symc_Techie
Level 5
Employee

Yes, you can use the local administrator of the machine for all services except Backup Exec Remote Agent. Keep that on localsystem.

Sush---
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified