cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Exec 2010R2 and Dell TL2000 on FC problems

kestral
Level 2

Hello,

I'm fairly new to FC and haven't used the Symantec backup before so I'm hoping I've just made a simple mistake somewhere.

Backup Exec is running on Windows Server 2008 Standard (x64) under vSphere 4.1 with a Brocade 300 fibre switch connecting it to a Dell TL2000 tape library with an IBM ULT3580-HH5.

I'm using the machine to test the setup using the trial, and will activate the license once I'm happy with it working.

I have installed Backup Exec 2010 R2 and run the live update to collect the updates.

On the devices, I see "Device Pools/All Devices" with nothing under that tree. I feel I should be seeing a tape device there.

I also see the local machine listed, under that is "IBM 0001" and under that is the "Slots". Selecting "Slots" I can see all the slots and which tapes are where. If I unplug the fibre, the "IBM 0001" goes offline, so I would assume the fibre connection is ok.

If I right click on the "IBM 0001" and select "Initialize", and click "Run Now", I can go to the "Job Monitor" and see it run and move to the "Job History"

Any other operations just get stuck in the "Current Job" and wont run. The job status is "Ready; No idle devices are available" which again looks like the tape drive is not detected.

In device manager, I can see "Medium Changer devices" with "Unknown Medium Changer" listed. I have tried installing the Dell driver, bud this didn't seem to help.

On the vSphere client under the "Options" I have had vmware allocate a WWN to the "Fibre Channel NPIV" option.

In Computer Management under Storage, I have no removable devices listed (I had seen from other posts this may be a problem)

Does anyone have any idea why this setup is not working ?

Regards,

Andrew

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

kestral
Level 2

Thanks everyone that put it suggestions.