cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Exec 2012 - Mac Agent Hotfix

Dropkick
Level 2

Hi guys

I am relatively new to the mac agent on Backup Exec. I have just installed the new hotfix, which states the mac agent needs to be updated. Could someone please advise where I would find the patch files so I can update the agent.

Obviously only after the files I need to install af the HotFix.

3 REPLIES 3

VJware
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified

I would assume it would involve copying over the patch, i.e. the .tar.gz file over to the Mac system & then extract the patch using tar xf...install the patch using ./patchname.sh

EDIT****

Here are the exact intstructions per TECH179999

1. Locate the .tar file in C:\Program Files\Symantec\Backup Exec\Agents\ or C:\Program Files\Symantec\Backup Exec\Agents\RALUS. These files can be copied to your RALUS/RAMS/RMALS target system and contain the latest available RALUS/RAMS/RMALS patch. Symantec does not recommend uncompressing these files on the Windows media server. Download the hotfix .tar file.
2. Transfer the .tar file to the Linux/Unix system.  Note: If FTP is used to transfer the file, ensure that binary mode is enabled prior to GETting or PUTting the .tar file.  Most GUI-based FTP applications will do this automatically.  For more information, refer to the FTP client documentation.  Do not untar the file on a Windows system as this may corrupt the data.
3. Log in to a command line on the target system with root privileges.
4. Extract the file to a temporary location:
# cd /tmp
# tar -xvf <path and filename, for instance /home/user/ralus1364HF301340-Linux_301342.tar>
5. Run this command and follow any prompts on screen:
# ./installraluspatch.sh

Dropkick
Level 2

Thanks for the info VJware, but I am a little lost with with compressed file Ineed to extract. None of the files listed have the number of the hotfix in it. Any ideas as they are all a lot older than I would have thought.