cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup exec restore questions

jake213
Level 3

Hey Guys,

I'm kind of new to backup exec 2010 R3 but I have a few questions. First let me put a scenario together to help illustrate my question before I sound too much like a noob. 

Say a production server went down and you cant restore the OS, its corrupted beyond repair. How would you restore the whole OS from backup exec? Basically what I'm asking is how would you create an "Image" of the whole OS in a certain state without having to go through the whole, install a new OS then restore from tape? I realize I could convert it to a VM then restore it that way? Basically I'm looking for a Best practices when it comes to restoring a whole server from a backup exec tape backup. 

Better yet what is the fastest way to restore a whole OS from backup exec?

Thanks

10 REPLIES 10

AmolB
Employee Accredited Certified

Have you read about IDR(Intelligent Disaster Recovery) if not go through BE Admin guide.

Also refer to http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO23844

jake213
Level 3

AmolZeroCool,

Thanks so much for replying, I read about the IDR and think it is going to be my solution. However, I'm torn. We do not have a bootable tape drive device to boot tapes from. Would I be able to copy the *.dr files to disk and restore them from a box I set up just for this purpose?

Hywel_Mallett
Level 6
Certified

Your options are:

1. Reinstall the OS and restore, which you don't want to do (understandable, as it's time consuming)
  2. Use IDR (which some people use with no problems, but it does have specific requirements)
  3. Use another product, such as Backup Exec System Recovery, which is designed for this very purpose.

jake213
Level 3

Hey Hywel Mallett,