cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best way to Backup and restore a Domain Controller with Active Directory

Bob_Hagnen
Level 2
Hello everyone, I'm a newbie here so any input would be very helpful to me.

Here's the scenario. I am trying to restore a Domain Controller with Active Directory. So far, I've tried doing a complete full backup on a backup-to-disk folder and then creating an IDR bootable CD. With the help from the forums, I've managed to solve the network card issue and was able to connect to the folder. I even managed to completely restore all of the files, but I do get the error that says unable to Load hive 0X2 etc. I reboot the machine and it says that my Ntoskrnl is corrupt or missing.

Second option, I tried was to build a general Windows 2003 Server and then install BE 11D and then tried to do a Directory restore and I also get an error stating that I cannot replace the current Hive configuration.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance

DC newbie
9 REPLIES 9

David_Sanz
Level 6
Partner
DC

When yu are restoring the Active Directory in a domain controller (that is, its system state) you must reboot it in Active Directory recovery mode (pushing F8 when the Windows logo appears).

Regards

Bob_Hagnen
Level 2
Ok, I will give that a try and post an update, but I presume that is for DR. What about IDR? Is there anyway that I can successfully backup and restore a Domain controller with AD through IDR?

Thanks

DC

Bob_Hagnen
Level 2
ok, I tried going into directory restore mode and restored the system state, when I rebooted the machine I get the following error message:

Directory services could not start. The system cannot find the file specified (lsass.exe). Error status 0XC000000f

Anybody have any suggestions?

Thanks

DC

Joshua_Small
Level 6
Partner
Hi Bob,

Honestly, IDR just automates a process you're capable of doing yourself. Follow these steps:

- Build a base Windows 2003 Server