Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error in pre install environmentcheck

Sys2
Level 3

Hello,

Long story short:

After having trouble performing a descent backup to tape for a while now, i was glad to see BE 2012 coming my way (Note: Backup to harddisc is running ok). However, when I run the pre install environmentcheck, i get this error:

"Tape Device Information

Warning

One or more devices on this computer are either not connected or not working."

The device used is a HP StorageWorks MSL2024

Looking in my administration console, I see the tapelibrary installed. It has a little Icon to it "1", meaning "Write once, read many". I don't know if it's configured correctly. I'm new to this environment.

My question now is: Must I resolve this issue before upgrading to BE 2012, or can the upgrade on itself be a solution to this problem? Any suggestion on how to resolve this issue? I already performed a driver update, not yet a firmware update.

Kind Regards,

Sys@dmin

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Kiran_Bandi
Level 6
Partner Accredited

The problem persists..

With pre-install check or any other problems?

You can check the tape device functionality using HP LT tools.

You might want to read this: https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/blogs/facing-any-issues-your-tape-device-try 

View solution in original post

18 REPLIES 18

AmolB
Employee Accredited Certified

Do you see the device in Windows Devcie Manager? 

Do you see any error message in the Windows Event Viewer?

"1" appears on most of the drives, it indicates WORM.

I would suggest you to proceed with the installation. If in case any issues arise than those can be

addressed post installation too.

Note: Prior to the installation make sure the hardware appears in the hardware compatibility list

Kiran_Bandi
Level 6
Partner Accredited

"Tape Device Information

Warning

One or more devices on this computer are either not connected or not working."