cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hardware requirement for BackupExec 2010

geekgadget
Level 4

Dear All,

I am new to backup field ,I want to know what is the good hardware configuration of a server to install BackupExec 2010 server in terms of :

1.CPU

2.RAM

3.Physical disk

4.NIC cards and other resources also that are important. 

And please let me know either physical or virtual machine which one is best for Backup 2010 installation.

regards

geekgadget

7 REPLIES 7

ZeRoC00L
Level 6
Partner Accredited

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

...to give you some sort of perspective here, I run a couple of my media servers on a ProLiant DL165 G5 with 2GB RAM and Windows Server 2008 R2. The more RAM you can run, the betterm, especially if you run other roles on the server, or even the deduplication option.

If you can run your media server as a physical, it's recommended. You'd need an Adaptec card to run a tape library to a BE 2010 R3 media server as a VM, and anything else isn't supported. We've already headed down this road with LSI SCSI cards that were purchased for a client, very much against my recommendations!

geekgadget
Level 4

Thank you ZeRoCOOL & CraigV for your response and information it give me good idea to tell client for hardware specification for BE_2010 server.

regards

geekgadget

teiva-boy
Level 6

Just keep in mind that certain features will dictate more resources than another...  

Using GRT would dictate temp disk space equal to your largest database that you are performing a GRT restore.

Using the dedupe option, you would need as much RAM as the OS needs, then at least 8GB more for the dedupe function, and add in 1.5GB of RAM per TB of deduped data stored by BackupExec.

If using VMware backups and have a SAN, an HBA will be a must.

You'll want to make sure the PCI bus and the various NIC's, HBA's, and other disk controllers are all on their own bus for max performance.