cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I get BackupExec to only use specific tapes for a backup?

Jay_Castle
Level 3
I have created media sets, specified those media sets in the back-up policies etc but no matter what I do, the system will just pick a tape, seemingly at random, and use it.. When I check after the backup, the tapes will even have moved to the media set specified in the policy!  This is my first time setting up and using Backupexec - a definate noob, I'm afraid!  Please help!
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Ken_Putnam
Level 6
From Tools\Options\Media Management

verify that "use overwriteable media in the target media set before scratch media" is selected, rather than the default of "use scratch media  before ..."

With the default, BackupExec will use the oldest tape it can find first, reagardless of the media set it belongs to (oldest meaning in Overwritable Status longest)   Why this is the default I'll never know  !!

But Craig's suggestion of partitioning the loader will also work

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited
How about partitioning your autoloader/tape library if you can? Push specific jobs to specific slots, and that way you can ensure that only certain tapes are being used. You will need to keep track of what tapes go in what slots though, so that will make it a bit long-winded.

Jay_Castle
Level 3
CraigV, thanks for answering so quickly - I will look into partitioning the autoloader and see how it goes. But I can't help feeling that this is a pretty basic request to make of my backup software. What use are media sets if they're not used to designate what tapes are used and when?  And what use are they when tapes can shift, willy-nilly, from one to the other at the whim of the system?

Richard-ADRA
Level 4