cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to create full and differential backups

JohnyD
Level 3

I'm new to Backup Exec. I have used 11D in the past but I'm not all that familiar with it. I've just purchased 2010 and a new Dell PowerVault 124T, LTO4 tape backup device with an 8 tape autoloader (one slot houses a cleaning tape). I'm looking to set up a backup job that goes like this:

1st of the month - Full Backup, retained indefinitly
Weekdays - Differential
15th of every month - Full Backup, retained for 3 months

Is this possible? Would I use one media set or two? I had hoped that once the job was set up to run that BE would run the jobs slowly filling up the discs, overwriting the differentials after a full backup was performed. I envisioned that eventually BE would fill up all the tapes and I could take them out and store them offsite. Is this reasonable? Is there a better method to achieve my goal?

Thank you very much. I'm fairly new at this so please don't hold back on being descriptive.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Ken_Putnam
Level 6
You would need to create three media sets

1st FULL     OPP infinite
15th FULL   OPP 90 days
DIFF              14 Days

then you would need a policy that would run the DIFF every weekday, with schedule overrides for the two FULLs  

This would  be assuming all D2D jobs   I'm not sure where the tape backups come in? 

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

florin_s
Level 4
Certified

Hello,

can you please provide more info:
-amount of space needed to be backed up(you can run some Full test job on each server to get an estimate)
-do you also have disk storage you can use for backup? how much?
-how many available tapes do you have or plan on using?

If you have enough space available on the storage you can setup a so called Staging Policy:
1. backup to disk(differential and full)
2. copy to tape(only full backup if you have enough space on storage to keep diff backups)