cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Incompatible storage media detected in robotic library

Colton50
Level 2

Hi, I have a HP MSL 2024. It's been working fine but I'm looking to add more tapes to my rotation. I purchased some LTO6 tapes and put the barcode labels on them. Before this I only had LTO4 and LTO5 tapes. Backup Exec spits out an error stating "incompatible storage media detected in robotic library." The MSL 2024 documentation states LTO6 is compatiable. In the tape properties for media type it says "scanned" whereas my other tapes state LTO. I verified the barcode rules match up to what is on the barcode (L6 suffix = LTO6 tape). Is there something I'm missing with adding these tapes? I'm completely new with tape drives and not sure what to do without messing everything up.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Larry_Fine
   VIP   

What generation is your tape drive in your MSL 2024?

If you were writing to LTO4 and LTO5 cartridges before, I would assume you have an LTO5 tape drive as that is the only generation of tape drive that can write to LTO4 and LTO5 cartridges.

An LTO5 tape drive is NOT compatible with LTO6 cartridges.  The MSL is compatible, but the reality is that it all depends upon the generation of tape drive installed.

IMHO, if you only have one generation of tape drive in your tape library, please turn off the bar code rules in Backup Exec and avoid any confusion.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

Larry_Fine
   VIP   

What generation is your tape drive in your MSL 2024?

If you were writing to LTO4 and LTO5 cartridges before, I would assume you have an LTO5 tape drive as that is the only generation of tape drive that can write to LTO4 and LTO5 cartridges.

An LTO5 tape drive is NOT compatible with LTO6 cartridges.  The MSL is compatible, but the reality is that it all depends upon the generation of tape drive installed.