cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need Help in Setting Include/Exclude

Yair_Glikman
Level 4

Hello Guys,

I am new to backup exec, I have read the Admin guilde, but i am really streesed as i need to implement BE allready.

I am using 3 X 2 TB External USB Disks, that i am rotating

Every week, on sunday, i insert new disk, the old one is sent to offsite, we uselly have 2 at work, and 1 allways at offsite.

We are intrsted in saving the data 3 months backs, so i have created new media set for 12 weeks.

1. I am selecting incremental using Modified time in the job, now, when i doing this first backup, is it full ? I can see, after it completes in restore it did everything, but is this considerd as full backup?

i am asking this because after 12 weeks, will it basicly do new "full" ? because this incremental will be replace.

2. After i have passed 3 disks, and the first one is coming again, the next incremental on him, i hope it will include all the changes since he was in use(3 weeks ago) - and not only changes from last disk, is this correct ?

3) I have issues with include/exclude, i want to exclude the PST files from the volume backups and backup them with "copy-files" option and not incrementaly.

for this i have created policy with 2 jobs for same selection.

- 1 Do incremental job with PST files excluded

- 1 Do Copy-Files JOB - for some reason i can only select exclude and not include for PST

- How do i do this then?

3 REPLIES 3

Ken_Putnam
Level 6

1)   When you use INCR or DIFF, you really should do periodic FULLs also, else you may need every INCR ever run to recover everything.   If you do NOT do a FULL, the first of either will, in effect, be a full, as you have seen

from what you describe, I would create a FULL and an INCR job and associated media set.  Make the OPP 90 days and the APP zero (never append).  Make both jobs overwrite only (IMHO,  all  disk based jobs should be overwrite only)