cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need Remote Agen for linux/Unix based platform

hydus
Level 3
Hi all

I am a new user for Backup Exec 11d, I have a file server called Snap server model 410. My test run fails with error need remote agent. I did a bit of reading on it found out that i do need remote agent that i need to install in snap server.

I have trying to find a remote agent for linux/unix platform. Can some please tell where i can download and also if you document that can help me to install in the snap server.

Thanks

Message Edited by hydus on 07-03-200707:12 PM

7 REPLIES 7

STeve_O
Level 5
Backup Exec had not agent that will install on a SNAP server.

The job should complete with that failed error and files should be present to restore.

hydus
Level 3

Hi Thank you for the respose

As you can see I am new to Backup Exec but i am reading throught documentation to quide me through the setup. Well i have 2 jobs,

1. Backup from a windows server 2003. It is running our ACCPAC application. This job runs fine and I tested it by restoring it.

2. Backup from Snap server, which is our file server for documents etc. The job runs 50% and then stops with an error message( e000846b). I have copy pasted the job log below. The line which are marked red are the erroe messages.

I am trying to research on this error message which talks about remote agent. As per the reply from my previous thread I go information that I don't need remote agent for this.

Can someone please help me figure this out. Thank you in advance.

Job Log for TestRun 00028 of Snap Backup

Completed status: FailedExpand AllCollapse AllJob Information
Server name : UTILITY
Job name : TestRun 00028 of Snap Backup
Job log : C:\Program Files\Symantec\Backup Exec\Data\BEX_UTILITY_00134.xml
Device name : SONY 1

Test Run Job Information
Credentials Check
Device : \\SNAP-SVR410, \\SNAP-SVR410\Taylor Toronto