cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Installation Help

WorldBuilder
Level 4

Hello everyone,

First, please let me say that I am NOT an expert with this stuff.  So I bring it to you, the BE gurus!  Several years ago, at my previous job, I took over as the "backup administrator" when we had a previously built system (BackUp Exec DataCenter Edition, I believe v.10-something)...

Anyway, it's been a looong time since those day (about 4 years).

I am now the technology manager of an education fund that has NEVER had a backup system.  Hell, they never had a real infrastructure...  Grrrrrr....  Well, they do now!  Here is what I have built...

1. Domain Controller - Active Directory on Server 2008 R2 x64
  2. E-Mail - Exchange 2010 on Server 2008 R2 x64
  3. Two file servers (one is Server 2008 R2 x64 and the other is Server 2003 32-bit)
  4. Application Server - Running a few school-specific apps.  Will eventually run SQL Server 2008 Standard , but for right now simply has a "Lite" version of SQL 2005 installed by the app that needs it.  I know almost nothing about SQL...  Running on Server 2003 32-bit.
  5. A ForeFront TMG Enterprise 2010 Server on Server 2008 R2 x64
  6. ReadAbout - A "server (basically just a really powerful PC) that runs ONE app called "ReadAbout".  It's a self-contained app requiring no database or anything.  So my guess is that it will need to be backed up like a file server...  Running Server 2003.
  7. A Server 2003 32-bit print server
  8. A Server 2003 32-bit "Anti-Virus" server (Trend Micro WFBS 6)
  9. A Server 2003 32-bit "Support" server running WSUS
  10. My "backup" server, which is running Server 2008 R2 x64.  Attached is a StorageTek L20 tape library with two IBM LTO2 drives.