Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Backup exec 2012

jason_blake
Level 4

Hi.

Im new to Backup Exec 2012.. 

Im putting in some new hardware and am configuring a backup Server. I want to backup an Exchange Server and SQL Server currenty installed on other Servers. 

In older versions of backup exec you could install Paid for SQL and Exchange Agents on the remote servers and backup the data to the Backup Exec Server.

Im not sure what product I need on the 2012 range to accomplish this. 

Is this correct.

Symantec Backup Exec 2012 Server - complete package

AND

Symantec Backup Exec 2012 Agent Applications and database V14.0 Box with 12 months Basic Support

9 REPLIES 9

Backup_Exec1
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified
Hi From your above comment Symantec Backup Exec 2012 Server - complete package AND Symantec Backup Exec 2012 Agent Applications and database V14.0 Box with 12 months Basic Support It looks like ,you are licensed to backup Exchange and SQL and Share point and active directory license as these agent are part of Application and database licenses. Also check Symantec Backup Exec™ Portfolio Licensing Guide www.emea.symantec.com/.../BE 2012_customer_license_guide.pdf Thanks

SuperBrain
Employee Accredited

Like backup-exec mentioned above, your licenses are alright.

As far as the remote server installation part is concerned, it works the same way as it did for earlier Backup Exec version you used.

Apart from the licenses that you install on media server, you will need to install Agent for Windows Systems (same as RAWS in earlier versions) on you Exchange/SQL remote servers in order to perform a successful backup of databases.

See How to install Backup Exec 2012 Agent for Windows for more details.

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

...1 Agent for Applications & Databses doesn't cover infinite servers...you need 1 of these licenses PER DB/Application server you back up, so please keep that in mind.

jason_blake
Level 4