cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Restoring a File & Print Server

SMF_LLC
Level 4

Good afternoon, Symantec.

I am preparing disaster recovery documentation for one of my file & print servers and have a few questions. I'm new to disaster recovery, so please bear with me.

1. I have over 50 printers on Server A. Server A's hardware fails completely and a new chassis must be ordered (same make/model/OS). Will a full restore reinstall all of those printers + features for me or will I need to manually recreate all 50 of them?
  2. I have about 20 network shares with specific permissions on Server A. Will a full restore recreate all of these shares, their permissions, etc. or will I need to manually recreate all of those, too?
  3. Are user accounts recreated with their appropriate permissions?
  4. Do I need to rejoin the failed machine to my domain?

I guess the bigger question here is "What does a full restore job NOT restore for me?" If anyone can answer this, it will clear a lot of the fog surrounding the top four questions. I never had to perform a full restore before, so I'm not sure of what's covered and what's not.

By the way, I am currently using Backup Exec 2010 R3 on a Windows 2008 R2 SP1 Standard box, using LTO-4 cartridges.

Thanks Symantec!

-Josh

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

teiva-boy
Level 6

If you are leveraging IDR, then most everything you would need would be handled with it.  permissions, shares, etc all restored.  

If it's a machine in which you rebuild the OS, patch, join to domain, then try to perform a restore..  Odds are you'll be doing a lot of cleanup and re-configuration.

Try out IDR, and test test test..  It's not a fun product to work with, but when setup right, it will work for what you want to do.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

teiva-boy
Level 6

If you are leveraging IDR, then most everything you would need would be handled with it.  permissions, shares, etc all restored.