cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Setting up Managed BE with CASO, Domain Issues

AKSM-IT
Level 3

Support Forum,

I will start off by saying I am not an Network Engineer.  I am just a programmer/analyst trying to cover an engineer job.

We have been having trouble backing up remote locations from our BE 2012 server.  We had a conference call with Symantec and they suggested we go with the CASO option on our server with Dedup, then install a BE 2012 with dedup in the remote location.  I could then backup locally and transfer the backup with dedup.  I built a brand new Windows 2003 64bit box and got CASO installed and made it its own domain (log story short, our current domain is same as web presence and presented conflicts).  I built a Windows 2003 server with BE 2012 and dedup and installed at the remote location on their domain.

Here is where I am stuck and symantec documentation/support falls short because they assume anyone attempting this knows all in the ins and outs of networking.

My CASO Server is called CASO64.  My Domain is AKSMStorage.com

My remote server is called BackupSvr.  Their domain is called NJClinic.com.

On the domain server on each each domain, I created a user account called Symantec with local and domain administrative privledges.  I read that 2003 domain servers needed to be elevated to 2003 for domain and forest and I did that on both ends.  Going on the basic info provided by Symantec, I was told to establish trust between the domains.  I followed some examples on the web and I think I established a two way trust.  I can ping each server and workstations from both ends but they need to be fully qualified names.

Symantec is telling me that I need to be able to login to the remote server with the ID, password and domain credentials of my CASO (in other words, AKSStorage.com\Symantec).  When I try this, I get an error: There are currently no logon servers available to service the logon request (1311).