Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Synthetic Backup Fails with An error occured while retrieving catalog info"

Mr_Windatt
Level 2
"Destination Set
Backup of "\\DC01MF\C:
An error occured while retrieving catalog information.
V-79-57344-2308 - An error occurred while retrieving catalog information."

In trying to write a synthetic backup onto a 20/40 DAT device, I get the above error. I have tried multiple pieces of media, but the error seems to point to the source (DC01MF), not destination as is said in the error!!

I am new to synth. backups so any info would be greatly appreciated. This is my first time setting one up.

At the end of this failed job, 3324 byte are shown as being processed and the tape has been written to.
7 REPLIES 7

Renuka_-
Level 6
Employee
Hello,
Please see: http://support.veritas.com/docs/269633

NOTE : If we do not receive your reply within two business days, this post would be marked assumed answeredand would be moved toanswered questions pool.

Mr_Windatt
Level 2
I took a look at the article you referred to and I have sufficient space available (15 GB) on that backup-to-disk folder. The security is also set ok. Below I have another piece of the error log that might help.
I have my baseline backup as a overwrite, the incremental as an append/or overwrite if needed, and the synthetic as an overwrite job...is that a problem?

An error occured while retrieving catalog information.
V-79-57344-2308 - An error occurred while retrieving catalog information.
V-79-57344-33035 - Error - Mount failed.
Physical Volume Library Drive not found.
V-79-57344-33035 - Unable to acquire device for the specified pool and media

Mr_Windatt
Level 2
In Looking deaper, I found the media referenced was the one I used 2 weeks ago for the synthetic backup...why would the synthetic backup job have need for the media of that time....it should only have need for the 'backup to disk folder' !!

Jeff

Wolfgang_Bruchh
Level 4