cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrading to Deduplication

schraids
Level 3

I have been running BE 2014 for a couple months now on an offsite server connected via Fiber.  All the data is being saved on the local RAID, so space is limited.  We just recently decided to upgrade to the Deduplication option to help keep backup size down.  My problem is, I'm not able to find any way to convert the disk I already have setup to Dedupe.  Am I going to have to remove all the current data, then set it up as dedupe, and start all over, or is there an option somewhere to do this?

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

Hi,

No...a normal B2D can't be upgraded to a dedupe folder. Unless there was enough disk space available in order to create the dedupe folder initially, and if you don't have additional disks to create a new dedupe folder, you'd have to move the data from the B2D off to another location and reconfigure it as a dedupe folder.

Then you'd either start your backups again from scratch and keep the data from the B2D until it is expired, or look at duplicating that data onto the dedupe store.

Thanks!

View solution in original post

pkh
   VIP    Certified

What you need to do is the following:-

1) Get another disk and define your dedup folder on it.  Dedicate the entire volume to your dedup folder.

2) Go to the Storage tab.  Click on your existing disk storage and select backup sets.

3) Select all or some of the backup sets, right-click and select duplicate.  You then target your duplicate job to the new dedup folder.

CraigV

...the TN below is for BE 2012 but the steps should be the same for BE 2014...post back if not:

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=TECH187265

I wouldn't put your dedupe folder onto an external drive as you're almost guaranteed not to have adequste throughput.

Thanks!

9 REPLIES 9

CraigV

Hi,