cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which product to buy - Help required!

Moggyman
Level 4

Hi

I'm currently using BExec 11d to backup plain data, a remote Exchange 2003 server and a remote SQL server.  The backups go either to tape or to an iSCSI volume mapped as a local drive to the backup server to enable granular Exchange backup/restore.

As more options get added and new products appear the more confused I get as to which upgrade product to buy to suit my needs - a lot of what's on offer seems like overkill for my small company with it's 4 main servers!!  Please excuse my ignorance of all things 'backup' as I'm a relative novice in this field.

Given the above simple model i.e. 4 main servers inc domain controller/filestore, Exchange (granular restore required) and SQL and the need to choose whether to backup to tape or NAS iSCSI volume (as tape backup has a habit of failing now and again for no obvious reason) I'm not sure what the best upgrade product would be.

What are the essential differences between Backup Exec 2010 and Backup Exec for Windows Small Business Server?  There's also a Ghost-like Backup Exec System Protection product I gather which is image based but I'm not sure what Exchange data could be extracted from a recovery point for starters!  I guess that might be another option.

Can anyone advise?  Be gentle with me - this is my first time!

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

Hi,

well, to run BE for SBS you need an SBS server...if you don't have 1, you'd need the following:

1. Backup Exec for Windows Servers (to be installed on your server as a media server)

2. 1 x Exchange agent to back up Exchange. This also comes with a RAWS agent (Remote Agent for Windows Servers)

3. 1 x SQL agent to back up SQL. This also comes with a RAWS agent.

4. 1 x RAWS agent for the DC/file server.