cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

advanced file open agent

micky_smith
Not applicable
Hi,

I am running backup exec 10 with server 2003.
I am new with the program and I had a question please on advanced file open agent feature.

When I installed it remotly using the server all seemed successful. The backup server thinks thats its installed. However, the agent itself does not appear in add/remove programs and the backup failed saying to install the advanced file agent on the server. The server in question is also a 2003 server.

I have rebooted the machine but error still comes up. I'd uninstall the agent to try again but i dont think its installed. Again the backup server thinks it is. Is there a way to install the agent off a cd? I tried looking for it on the veritas website to download but that is not an option.

What can I do as a next step? Any input from anyone would be really appreciated

thanks
micky
5 REPLIES 5

Asma_Tamboli
Level 6
Hi Micky,

To be able to use the Advanced Open File Option, it is needed that the license be installed on the media server. For every remote server you want to use the option on, you need to have a AOFO license.

Have you bought the Advanced Open File Option license?

Are you trying to install AOFO on the remote server?

What exactly does the error that occurs, read?

Check out the following tech note which helps with the installation of the option:

How to perform a local installation of the Backup Exec Remote Agent for Windows Servers or the Advanced Open File Option

http://support.veritas.com/docs/258982 (But a license is required to use the option)

Also check out the following tech note:

How to check for the presence of the Backup Exec 9.x and 10.0 Advanced Open File Option on a remote machine

http://support.veritas.com/docs/256481

Hope it helps!!