cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Anyone migrated from EMC EmailXtender to Symantec Enterprise Vault?

daMibu
Not applicable
Hello

I have been running EMC EmailXtender since 2003 and the system is on its last legs and needs to be replaced, migrated, outsourced, etc...  It has been a mediocre product over the so t it is time to do something new.

I have 72 million email messages and about 3TB of data going back 8 years.

I am doing the cost analysis for migrating to EMC's Source One, replacing with Enterprise Vault and outsourcing to one of the many providers.

Outsourcing is very appealing but cost to move 72 million emails to a 3rd party is not cheap.

I assume there are some people on this forum who have moved from EmailXtender to Enterprise Vault.  How has that gone and if you knew before the migration that you know now what would you change?

Also how aggressive were Symantec with pricing when it came to displacing an EMC customer?  Did this matter?

How did you find Symantec’s support for EV compared  to EMC?

Any other thoughts and feedback would be greatly appreciated.  I am happy to share my experience as I get stuck into this project over the coming weeks.

Thanks
Enhanced by Zemanta
5 REPLIES 5

BarneyHaye
Level 3
Partner
daMibu,

Coming at this slightly differently, I represent a company that is solely focussed on producing archive migration software for use in situations such as yours.  Our partners use the tool to deliver end-user projects and have used it in many migration scenarios from EX to EV (and other archives) both for Exchange and Notes and for converting from one to the other.

If you'd like to contact us directly through www.transvaultsoftware.com we could put you in touch with partners that could provide all the answers you are looking for.  Hope that is helpful.

Barney Haye

Jackie_Ervin_Gl
Not applicable
Partner Accredited
daMibu,