cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EV Journalling not keeping up...

cmew
Level 2

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to the EV Product, however we've rolled this out to a customer and enabled it for Journalling.  The problem is, it doesn't seem to be able to keep up.  Items are being created in the Journal Mailbox at the rate of knots, I can see that the items are being converted to 'PendingArchive Part' , then every now and again there are 1000 items that are 'PendingArchive'.

Although it looks like it's archiving, it doesn't seem to be doing it quick enough.

This causes an issue where by, the Journal Mailbox is growing too quickly and eDiscovery isn't working as the customer is forever waiting for items to be Archived.

Does anyone have any ideas at how I can get on top of this?

Thanks

Craig

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Rob_Wilcox1
Level 6
Partner

that is not the ' normal ' safety copy setting for journal archives.

have a look at the other options..

But first to clear down the mailbox you'll need to put the vault store in to backup mode, back it up (which will reset the archive bit) then take it out of backup mode. that will clear down those items.

Working for cloudficient.com

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

Rob_Wilcox1
Level 6
Partner
What you are seeing sounds like the normal behaviour to me. What version of Exchange? And EV? How many items did your design say would pass through the journal mailbox per day? How many items are staying in the journal mailbox over the period of say 10-15 minutes, an hour, half a day? The behaviour is normally that items are made partpending, then a five minute (default) timer starts to make sure no other copies of the journal report arrive, before item goes pending archive, then fully archived. What is the safety copy setting on your vault store? How many users are there? Lots of variables you see :)

cmew
Level 2

Hi Rob,

OK here goes :)