Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Index volume not able to be repaired

WallySimmonds
Level 3
Partner
Hi guys,

Wall of text to follow!

I'm an engineer for a company that is about to take over server support from another company in the coming months.  Now, part of the support we provide currently is for EV - and so we've been called in to fix an issue that quite probably has been caused by the outgoing outsourcing vendor.

Basically what has happened is that they've created an index store on the C drive.  Don't ask me how that happened, but that's how it seems..  By the looks of things, they've managed to fix things up and set it up correctly on the correct drive, but not before EV ran out of space and it looks like there's all sorts of errors in the event logs since.  This may be unrelated, but I thought it would be worth mentioning.

I come in weekly to do checks on the system, and notice that one of the index volumes has failed.  Attempting to repair does not work, and neither does a rebuild. Further investigation reveals that there are too many consecutive items failing as per this post here:  

https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/forums/index-volume-has-been-marked-failed

Further investigation reveals it can't find certain DVS files.  I've done a search on the entire server and they're definitely not anywhere.  So, I'm not really sure what to do about that.

My question is - with the information given, do you think it'd be alright to proceed with the 'poison pill' registry modification as mentioned in the post linked?  I realise they've probably lost data here, but my main concern is getting the index up and going again.