cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stop creating Shortcuts

Simmons_Firm
Level 3

Sorry I am new to Enterprise vault and we have not fully implemented it.   We have only a few test users. 

My Office wants to archive everything however they only want to delete emails from Exchange after 3 years.  They want the originals left in exchange until that time.    I have changed the Mailbox Policy so that is doesnt delete the items and set it to not create shortcuts.   HOWEVER it is still constantly creating shortcuts for every email archived.  Meaning that there are duplicate emails of every email.  The original and the shortcut.

How do I tell Enterprise to not create shortcuts at all?

Things i have done:

Under Policies Exchange, Mailbox

Under Archiving Actions Uncheck "Create Shortcut to archived item after Archiving"

Under ShortCut Content Uncheck Include Recpient Info.

Under ShortCut Content Change Content of shortcut body none

Any Help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

JesusWept3
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

Open the Vault Admin Console
Expand out your Vault Store Group, then expand out your Vault Store
Right click your Vault Store Partition on the right hand side and go to Properties
Should be at the bottom under "Remove Safety Copies"

You will have three options:
 - After Backup (default)
 - After Backup (Immediately for Journaling)
 - Immediately After Archive

After Backup means that it will leave a "Safety Copy" or a Pending item, that will remain until the DVS/DVSSP/DVSCC etc have been backed up and the Archive Bit removed from the files on the vault store partition.

Once that has been done and EV scans the item, determines its been backed up, it will then "Post Process" the item, post process meaning it either converts the item to a shortcut, or it will delete the original email.