cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Disaster restore from disk

NBUAdmin
Level 3
I have a master server in siteA and a media server in siteB with NetBackup 6.1mp3. We are backing up to a SAN at each site and then replicating the SAN between the 2 sites.

If there is a disaster in siteB I want to be able to restore replicated data from siteA to new servers. How would I restore the data?

I thought since the master server is in siteB with all the catalog information I should be able to create a storage unit, point it to the SAN and restore the images. I don't see any way to do this in Nebackup. I tried to change the storage unit path to point to the SAN in siteA but it can't find the images this way.

Also, in testing I created a local folder called backup and ran a test backup to that folder. I then moved the images to another folder called backup2 and am unable to restore the file. Any way around this?
7 REPLIES 7

Rakesh_Khandelw
Level 6
What are you replicatin from Site B to Site A? For NetBackup, you do not need to do any replication from media server at Site B to Master server at Site A. With NBU 6.0 everthing is located on your master server unless your server on Site B is the EMM server.

After you create new media manager to do local restore on site A, add following to bp.conf file of master server on site A

FORCE_RESTORE_MEDIA_SERVER= fromhost(media manager at Site B) tohost(media manager at site A)

FORCE_RESTORE_MEDIA_SERVER

Applies to NetBackup Enterprise Server:

Forces restores to go to a specific server, regardless of where the files were backed up. The format for the entry follows:

FORCE_RESTORE_MEDIA_SERVER= fromhost tohost

Where fromhost is the server that performed the original backup and tohost is the server to use for the restore.