cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error running manual backup for SQL Server from NB Server

mfal42
Not applicable

I am trying to create a NB policy and schedule for SQL Server backups.  I have copied a policy from a previously existing policy and, according to my NB Administrator "everything looks ok" (I'm a SQL DBA).  When I run the backup I get the following error:

Status code: 240

"The appropriate schedule was not found in the specified policy. For example, a user backup specified a policy name but no user backup schedule exists in that policy."

Troubleshooter says:

"Try the following:
Specify a different policy or create a schedule of the needed type in the policy. After you make the correction, retry the operation."

However, I'm not sure what I should be setting this for.  As stated, I have created the policy by copying a policy my NB Administrator already created.  The main difference is he created a policy for application backup and I'm trying to set this up for automatic (the application backup is problematic for being able to automatically run backups from the SQL side).

Any information is greatly appreciated.

NBU: 6.5

SQL 2008 R2

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

MKT
Level 5
Employee Accredited

For SQL backups, the Automatic backup is the schedule that fires the script defined...that script could fire 1 SQL db backup or 1000, Netbackup doesn't know.  The Automatic schedule is used for 'when' the backup is run and registers the 'success/failure' of the script defined. 

All operations in the script get run as 'user backups' under a Application backup schedule.  The Application backup holds the parameters of each database is being backed up under (retention/storage override).  So, the x database backups defined in the script run under the Application schedule. Add that in and you'll get rid of the 240.  SQL/Oracle/Sybase backups run under this same 'two step' scheudule method.

View solution in original post