cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How is Multiple streams initiated?

Patrik_J_L
Level 3

Hi,

I'm wondering how the multiple streams is initiated? For example is stream 1 always initiated first?

The reason for my question is that I'm developing some bpstart and bpend scritpts. 

I use the STREAM_COUNT and STREAM_NUMBER variables to have the last stream finished run some stuff in the bpend script, but I'm having problem when some streams does not start, for example due to backup window issue (196).

I was thinking on doing some "magic" when stream 1 is started and let the rest of the streams just wait until the "magic" is done, but I need to be sure that stream 1 is started first.

TIA

Patrik

10 REPLIES 10

RiaanBadenhorst
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Hi,

Yeah its quite messy. I tried it once, but i'm no programmer. I tried the logic of creating a file to test for and placing the stream number in the file.

BPSTART

If the file is not there you're first, add 1 to the file. Run the Magic

If the file is there, replace the stream number with yours, move on, etc.

BPEND

Check the file, check the stream number, decrease it by one, move

Check the file, if its one stream left, remove file, run magic.

But then, I'm no programmer cheeky

And you have to contend with streams possible starting at the same time and both (or more thinking) they're first....

Patrik_J_L
Level 3

Hi,

Thanks for your comments.

One problem in your structure is if all streams has not been started before the last active one is finished, the "bpend" magic will be done before all streams are executed. And there is more issues as well.... 

I would really like to know about HOW the streams is initiated since it would help me if I always can have stream 1 doing all bpstart magic.

/Patrik

RiaanBadenhorst

Ah yes, i remember that now. Knew there was a reason it sucked (My logic that is :P).