cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Long backup time.

Evan
Level 4

Hey all,

I've noticed lately that my backups are taking a long time. We have Netbackup 7 with dedupe and I am running a policy to backup approx 1.3 TB of data onto LTO3 tape. I started the process at 7:13am and it didn't finish until about 3:30am the next morning. So, that was more than 20 hours! That's not normal right? The other thing that I think could be slowing it down is that I ran it with compression on so it wouldn't take up so many tapes, but obviously I lose performance by doing so. But wow, that is a long time! I'm pretty new to backup speed testing so, let me know if I'm wrong, and that's a normal time for a job like this. I'll try to provide more information about my setup below. let me know if you have any ideas/questions!

Thanks!

Evan

info:

We have NBU 7, backing up images on a FC RAID array.

We have 2 LTO 3 tape drives

policy said it wrote 19219 KB/Sec

took approx 20 hours

wrote approx 1.3 TB

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

I agree with Quindor - to 'backup' the backups from disk to tape, you need to 'Duplicate' the disk images.

It can be done automatically using Storage Life Cycle Policies.

The data on disk is Dedupe data? You need to understand that duplicating this data to tape will need to 'rehydrate' the backup images, i.e. all data needs to be written to tape and not just the unique segments that was written by the backup image to be duplicated. Performance therefore can be expected to be on the slow side...

See chapter 14 of Administrator's Guide for Windows I  http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH127079 for detailed info on SLP's.

PLEASE also read the Performance Tuning Guide - it covers SIZE_DATA_BUFFERS_DISK and other 'BUFFER' files that are used for tape...

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

Marianne
Level 6